Frugal February

5 Feb

I’m joining in 5 days late, but as I need to pay out £180 this month for my daughter’s brownie pack holiday (£20 deposit all ready paid) & I work part-time, I need to spend very carefully.

Kate is 10 next month & has asked for a DSi. We don’t normally buy such an expensive gift, but I agreed to it before we knew the price of the pack holiday (£100, instead of the usual £40) I avoid using my credit card, but I may need it for the DSi.

I had all ready decided to be extra careful over the next couple of months, as I also need to factor in my husband’s 50th bithday at the end of next month. He isn’t bothered by celebrating his birthday usually, but I think that big birthdays should be more special.

My biggest personal spending goes on coffees in cafes, dolce gusto pods for coffee at home (I seem to be spotting a theme here!) & chocolate.

I love reading, but trawl the charity shops, use the library & borrow / lend  books from/ with  friends. I’m currently reading Stephen Booth’s first Peak District crime novel, but found a few at the school Christmas fayre book stall & at the annual Bookcrossing unconvention last Autumn. A friend also lent me the 3 Call the Midwife books last week at the PTFA coffee morning.  I don’t need to buy any books. Now. This month. Or for the next few years if I read everything on my groaning bookshelves …

I still have un-spent Christmas money & amazon vouchers.

I’ve seen this on several blog’s, but the original post is http://www.biggirlsbrowse.com/blog/frugal-february/

So, for the rest of February

I vow, for one month from 1st Feb, to avoid shopping for anything other than essentials.

7 Responses to “Frugal February”

  1. Missus Tribble February 5, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Quick tip: To get the HTML working you need to hit the HTML tab i your update box, start a new paragraph and then return to Visual.

    I’ve also only just learned that you can create different pages for different purposes on your blog. I’m so blonde sometimes – haha!

    • tiggsybabes February 5, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      I tried & failed to get that html to work, so ended up deleting it. I’m a complete beginner at using wordpress, so any tips gratfeully received 🙂

      • Missus Tribble February 5, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

        Well, here’s another thing you could try:

        Save the button to your PC and upload it to your entry, making sure to alter the URL once it’s uploaded so that it points to the original post. That’s what I did, and it works fine 🙂

        Do you think I ought to have a Doctor Who page?

  2. minibreakmummy February 5, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Good to see you joining in with this 🙂 Sounds like you have good reason to want to be frugal with two important birthdays in the family

    PS I found badges non-obvious in WordPress at first, but then I spotted that some things work better if you do them using the html view (embedding YouTube clips is another example of something that seems to work better in html view)

    • Missus Tribble February 5, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      I cheated this time; I saved the image of the piggy to my laptop, uploaded it to my blog and simply changed the URL from mine to the original Frugal February blog location!

      I’d love to be able to embed Youtube videos – I see that I have to pay for that add-on though :/

  3. Amanda Cottingham February 6, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    This sounds a great idea…we have an expensive year coming up and we have vowed to try and be frugal and cut back each month.
    Good luck! I shall watch with interest x

  4. mrs green @littlegreenblog.com February 29, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    How did you get on? Did you enjoy the month, stick to it, learn something? I’ve shared the link to this post on this month’s BritMums Green Roundup as I think it’s a fantastic and inspiring idea.I did a similar idea myself in Jan and it DID get gradually easier!

Leave a Reply

